Christmas Fishtail – The Fifth and Final Car Accident …Almost

24 Sep

“Where’s Katie? Where’s Katie?”

My Dad was yelling into the belly of the van that was now headfirst deep into a typical deep Canadian winter ditch far off the road. We had skidded, fishtailed, nose-dived off the road and flipped and rolled.

“She’s in the corner Dad, underneath you. You’re on top of her.”

My Dad had fallen out of his seat and dropped down – or up – wherever the van was at this point.

It was two days before Christmas and we were on route to pick up the family dinner and last-minute Christmas gifts in town.  The road leading out of the cottage in this winter wonderland was gravel and snow-covered. There was a thick sheet of black ice under this one portion that could not be detected. My father was driving, I was seated passenger right and my twin was behind us in the first row of seats. The last thing I remember was the van slipping a bit right, and I started to say The Our Father under my breath. Been here before. Again, happened automatically quietly in my head. That’s all I remember. I don’t remember seconds before that and I don’t remember anything about the accident at all. Not the swerving, the fishtailing, my father’s correcting, nothing.

Apparently, we hit black ice and Dad did what he could to keep us steady on the road, but it was too slippery and the van caught a bad patch and after slipping and sliding we flew off the road and nose-dived hard and deep into a deep section of ditch off the right side of the road. It was one of those van with the long narrow nose where the front windshield is. The impact was enough to shatter the rear window and all of the contents in the back of the van came flying forward, past my brother, through the front and out the windows. The contents were scattered all over the snow bank like a windstorm had come through. Fortunately my brother and father were not too badly injured. Mt grandfather’s incredibly heavy steel toolbox was in the rear and when it came flying forward at mock – 80mph or what have you, it hit him in the ankle hard. It didn’t break, but definitely the biggest black eye of a bruise on his ankle!

Once my brother and Dad located me, I wasn’t conscious. They had to get me out. My father was on top me though and the van was flipped on it’s side, so everyone’s sense of gravity was a bit off and I imagine disoriented and in shock from the flight we had just had. Tim was able to get out of the door not on the ground and when in the front driver’s side to help get my father out. Then I think my brother went in and got me. I had been thrown forward and was tucked in the corner with my seatbelt keeping me in. I don’t remember any of this whatsoever. My brother and Dad helped get my body out. None of us have any idea how much time had passed since the accident started, our flight and coming to. My first dizzying waking point, was trying to open my eyes, but the world around me was spinning at such an untolerable speed that everyone time I would open one eye slightly, I’d shut it immediately to avoid the nausea that wanted to stop the speed.

The local mailman had been on his route and happen to come down this quiet country road. He saw the went to pull over his car, but he too put his car in the ditch. Obviously, some pretty slippery roads. My brother put my in the front seat of the mailman’s little car – some kind of hatchback. I kept trying to open my eyes, but the world was still spinning at mock whatever and now I was in this tiny car that seemed to make it worse! I peaked open one of my eyes and could see blood on my right hand. It was cold. I was cold. My hands were winter-red cold, damp and I was shivering. Why was there blood on my hand? What cut me?

“There’s blood! There’s blood. Where is is coming from?”

My brother looked around me. “Where is it? Where do you see it? Is it anywhere else?” he asked.

“I think just my hand. I can’t keep my eyes open to see…”

To be continued…

•••

Getting closer to the beginning…
Happy Autumn!
My favorite season…

~ Kate

•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

•  Mood: Glad a myo-facial massage. Kind of.
•  Locale: Red Velvet Banquette, Pub, Toronto.
•  On deck: { Listen here }  Reflektor
by Arcade Fire

••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

© All rights reserved. Kate Flood •

Leave a Reply

