9/11 – John McClane and the Power of Intuition

11 Sep

Where I was on 9/11 and other tales of the power of our intuition…
DSC_0296

 I was staying at my ex-boyfriend’s home and had a flight booked on September 11, 2001 in the morning at 8:45am.

“Meh, I’m going to stay another week and cancel my flight.”

And so I did. I had no reason to in particular. Nothing came up that I needed to attend. Would anything of happened to me? Nothing serious. Nothing compared to what did happen; however, I would have been stuck in an airplane, stranded on the tarmac for arguably most of the day all the other planes that were.

I remember exactly where I was when I became aware of the Bruce Willis movie. I walked out of the bedroom, passed the tv and remembering saying to myself,

“I’m not going to turn on the tv today. Too much tv watching this week.”

{ I’ve never been much of a tv watcher and have rarely had one all these years. When someone does have one – well – it can be a little addictive and sedating, say like, sour cream and onion Pringles. How does one NOT finish the cardboard cylinder? }

I walked into the kitchen not two steps, and thought { or the devil on my shoulder thought } –

“Oh – just a little. We’ll see what’s on.”

It was about 10 to 9am and I turned on the tv to see the movie Die Hard.  It wasn’t the time to watch Diehard – that’s  a nighttime movie (one of my favorites I might add). I turned the channel – Diehard. Another channel – Diehard.

“Why the flip is Diehard airing on like every channel. Something must be wrong with the television and I’m hitting the same channel over and over again.”

And then I saw the infamous CNN ticker tape that would run through millions of minds for months to come, day in and day out, imprinted on our brains – normal as our Digitized red digits on our alarm clocks flashing us to wake every morning.

It was 8:48am when the first pictures of 911 were aired on tv. It wasn’t the movie Diehard airing, it was pure insanity. I just remember standing there in shock, thinking this has to be a joke, this can’t be real. This is a movie, computer animation…an April Fools joke. I really thought it was April fools joke put on by the networks. It was on every network. Only it wasn’t April 1. It was Sept 11. Everything went through my mind to try and make sense of seeing this plane hit the first Twin Tower. Every channel I turned to was airing the same image, over and over again. Not all the stations could airing the same computer animation special. Then the second plane hit.

I couldn’t believe it. I finally flumped on the couch after standing, pacing watch the horrific images come in.

My God!  I was suppose to be flying out this morning. Well, I guess I wouldn’t really have being flying anywhere. I’d be sitting there in the plane (which I hate. I’m always the last to show up to the desk. Why wait on a plane, when you can wait on a sudo-comfy chair on in a more roomy airport).  3,300 commercial flights and 1,200 private planes re-routed to airports in Canada and the United States over the next two-and-a-half hours. Ohhh. And then it hit me. Wow, I thought to myself and I cancelled my flight. Holy shit! I cancelled my flight last night. That’s insane. Crazy. How did I know?

Then I remember thinking that I thought my cousin lived and worked in New York. I wasn’t sure because she had spend years in London and traveling with her work, I just wasn’t sure. Or maybe I was, and I didn’t want to be right. I called my twin and told him to turn on his television and at the same time said,

“Doesn’t Meghan work in New York?”

“Yah, she does. I’ll call Joe.” Joe was Meghan’s brother living in Toronto. My twin called Joe,

“Is your tv on? Turn on your tv. Where does Meghan work?”

“New York.”

“Where though?”

“Twin Towers.”

I’m sure silence fell over the phone. Meghan was really the only close cousin I knew who even lived in the U.S.

I don’t think I’d ever heard of the Twin Towers. I do know the size of New York City and how many buildings there are. I didn’t think the chances of her working in the ones that were all over the news was remotely possible.

“….She’s in Paris…Business trip. She’s in Paris. She’s not in New York right now.”

Can you imagine? The chances? Of all the cities, of all the buildings, my cousin is working in the one plastered all over the news. Thank God she was in Paris. Her company was not so fortunate. She was in a cafe in Paris when she saw the news. She was in shock. Crying. Strangers came over to her, tried to reassure her. Asked if there was someone with her. Someone she could be with during this time.

I heard other stories not as close to home. One more recently of someone who was working in the Twin Towers who went out begrudgingly for a smoke break. Then the first plane hit.

Best smoke of his life right? He stills smokes. ‘Not going to quit apparently. Going out for that ciggy It saved his life.

I’d argue it wasn’t the habit of smoking that saved his life, but his intuition. If it wasn’t smoking, I’m sure something would have urged him to get out of what was about to happen as I’m sure did for many. The smoking habit that day helped.

Your intuition works. Use it.

And,
DSC_0305

“Where is John McClane when you need him?”

God Bless all those affected by 911. Especially the children who lost parents and loved ones.

Happy Birthday P.A.,
A friend who shares a birthday with the infamous date known now simply as 9/11,
Kate
•••••••••••••••••

Red Fingerprint •  Mood: Feeling Lucky
•  Locale: Big brown leather & brass tacked comfy chair, Starbucks, Toronto.
•  On the stereo: Where did I Leave that Fire? by Neko Case
{ New album: The Worse things Get, the Harder }
Listen here: Where did I Leave the Fire

•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

© All rights reserved. Kate Flood •

2 Responses to “9/11 – John McClane and the Power of Intuition”

  1. steve gaul October 5, 2013 at 11:10 pm #

    hey. like what ive read so far. makes me think. not to try and up you…just conversation. I too was born early….3 months. they too told my mom i would not be coming home. had pneumonia 12 times before 15 years old, almost died when stung by a beer in the forest at 8 yrs old, cancer @ 21, serious car accident ( head on collision) @ 25. Survived a tornado @ 27, Stuck by lightning @ 30. Was well on the way to drinking my self to death at 32 when i was busted for DUI. Started running the next day and changed my life. Lost 60lbs and controlled my drinking and ran marathon after marathon into ultra marathons and was running across canada when my meniscus wore away in my left knee and life changed. No more running. So U drummed for 121 horus non stop to raise money to beat the cancer that took my sister. NOw its all over and i still cant run and am in chronic non stop pain. I want to drink again….thoughts 🙂

    my site is below but i abandoned it quite a while ago due to frustration of not running.

    • Kate Flood October 6, 2013 at 8:51 pm #

      Hi Steve,

      Thanks for commenting and for your compliment on my blog! I love to hear my readers support. I’m so sorry for everything you have been through in your life. Your right, that is an awful lot. I hope you are easy on yourself. I am sorry you have chronic pain as well. It can be beaten despite what the medical system will say. Exercise, diet and the right practioners make that happen faster. Don’t let the drinking win. You survived for a reason. Choosing booze only makes the booze win and clearly having endured and survived what you have, you are a winner. It is completely understandable that you would want to turn to alcohol for what you have been though; however if you want to win, choose crutches that support and boost you like counselling, yoga and laughter. I have never met anyone aside from my twin and a soulmate who was born 3 months premature. FYI, your 12 bouts of pneumonia before you were fifteen – each month is a new stage of developement in a fetus. Guess what the six month is in which you were born? The Lungs. Where is pneumonia? In the lungs. Totally understandable. If you would like any more specific counsel or advice, let me know.

      You are not alone.
      Completely understand,
      Kate

Leave a Reply

