Getting into My Dream Program – Graphic Design

28 Nov

A giant swarming, swirling enveloping cloud of smoke. Cigar smoke. Argh! Hey, I don’t mine a slight poof of  cigar smells sweet. A room full of it, filling my lungs – Ack! And, may I remind you, it’s the late 1990’s. What on earth is this guy doing smoking his lungs out on in a campus office?

I applied to the top 3 schools in Canada at the for Graphic Design – Sheridan, George Brown and Algonquin. I wasn’t as hyped about the “gonq”, however they were the only program with the most modern computers and their labs were equipped with the “new” blue apple G3 towers. Remember those? This, was progressive and too me usually reflects the rest of the staff and programming as well. A friend of mine had graduated the program and raved about the director. I arranged to attend a class a head of time and sit in to observe.  Just as an aside, I remember arranging an appointment at George Brown to go interview them, visit the program and see how it all run. Their reputation at the time was in question. I planned a month in advance, spent the gas money on the 5 hour drive to Toronto only to arrive and they have no idea who I was, or any recollection of any appointment and stood there dumbfounded offering no option.

I piped up and said, “Well, I’m here, might as well meet the director if he’s available. I just drive 5 hours.” “Oh sure, well then, of course, Um follow me.” So the secretary woman walks me down this discoloured yellowed hallway and motions me to hang on a moment. She leans reluctantly into and office and taps on the door frame. Mr. So and So, there’s a young lady here who has driven all the way from Ottawa. She says she interested in attending our graphic design program. There’s a long pause. I’m thinking serious, I’m right there, this guy is not going to let me in? She puts her head down and motions me in. I’m thinking, what on god’s green earth is on the other side of this door! I walk up and turn into the door way and I’m stopped. I’m stopped by the bain of my existence.

A giant swarming, swirling enveloping cloud of smoke. Cigar smoke. Argh! Hey, I don’t mine a slight poof og a cigar smells sweet. A room full of it, filling my lungs – Ack! And, may I remind you, it’s the late 1990’s. What on earth is this guy doing smoking his lungs out on in a campus office? Long gone are the years of teacher’s smoking in the cafeteria like in my elementary days. Hilarious to think of it now right? Ahh. The eighties. They said fashion era’s repeat themselves, I honestly though it would skip over the eighties. I really did. No classy in the eighties unless you were a prep. And, where are we now? The eighties have returned with vengeance. Converse, fluorescent and big glasses. I digress. No wait, people, you know what that means? The ingenuity of the grunge era, and era devoid of any resemblance to any fashion era prior except possibly Le Miserable, is next. Grunge will return.

To be continued…

Have you followed through on your dream? Have you got into the program of your dreams? Have you applied? What are you waiting for? Tell me what your dream program is?

Keep Reading!
Kate

Listening to: “Smokes Quantity” by Boards of Canada { Who’s mixing this track anyways? }
Locale: Starbucks @ Chapters/Indigo – 7 hours and counting…
State of mind: Thank you for the tips Kellie! ; )

© 2012 by Kate Flood. All rights reserved

One Response to “Getting into My Dream Program – Graphic Design”

  1. Jeyna Grace November 28, 2012 at 3:12 am #

    Theres a market in graphic design.. though you have to start off small.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

